Sada-e-Watan Sydney ô

Dr Imran Kassam

Dr Imran Kassam re-elected as the President of Australia Pakistan Medical Association

The Australia Pakistan Medical Association (APMA) ELECTIONS was held on Sunday 28 April 2019 at the Macquarie Hospital Boardroom, next to Macquarie Uni Sydney. The members of election Committee Dr AmanUllah Khan, Dr Mohammad Bilal

Dr AmanUllah Khan and Pervaiz Buttar

and Mr Pervaiz Buttar was present there who announced that until last date of Nomination, they received papers for all position and later they declared result for all successful team as unopposed election.
President; Dr Imran Kassam
Vice Presidents; Dr Erum Bilal
Dr Masood Ansari
Gen Secretary; Dr Adnan Younus.
Deputy Secretary; Ghazala Khan
Treasurer; Dr Athar Khan
Social Secretary; Dr Samreen Kassam
Deputy Social Secretary; Dr Madiha Khan
Communication Secretary; Dr Arooge Shafi.
Deputy Communication Secretary; Dr Shams ul Arifeen

Syed Zafar Hussain and Dr AmanUllah Khan

Transcript speech of the re-elected President of APMA Dr Prof Imran Kassam;

Dr Imran Kassam

I would like to welcome every one today to APMA General body Meeting and Executive Committee elections for 2019. I would like to first take the opportunity to thank Dr AmanUllah, Dr Mohammad Bilal and Mr Pervaiz Buttar for being part of the Election committee. I would also like to say thank you to Mr Zafar Hussain for attending this meeting and for his ongoing support through Sada-e-Watan Sydney. Thanks also goes to Dr Sayeed Khan, founding member and past President of APMA, currently serving as President of CAPMA, the established council of Australia Pakistan Medical Associations.

Itís my pleasure to continue to serve APMA as President for another term and I feel very fortunate to be part of such an incredible team and of an organisation like APMA, which has assumed an active role in the Australian-Pakistani community since its recommencement in 2011. At this stage, I would like to thank everyone who has been part of our team over the last 2 years and extend my welcome to new and old executive members alike. I like to welcome Dr Erum Bilal for continuing as Vice President, Dr Masood Ansari, Dr Athar Khan, Dr Adnan Younus, Dr Arooge Shafi, Dr Samreen Kassam, Dr Shams Airfeen , Madiha Khan and most importantly Mrs Ghazala Khan.

APMA was formed to provide a uniform platform to doctors in Australia from Pakistani origin and to work towards providing educational activities, charity fundraisers and social gatherings.

Over the last 2 years we have facilitated events that have worked towards these objectives. We have collaborated with medical associations from interstate as well as internationally, and have managed to support charities who are doing amazing work both in Australia and Pakistan.

Current times have reminded us again and again, the importance of engaging in the political framework of Australia to show that we are contributing as model citizens and also providing care and support to local causes as well. We need to engage our youth and doctors who are looking for jobs and address their issues. We need to engage with other similar associations, and form a working group who can present these issues to relevant regulatory bodies. We need to engage with members and listen to their concerns.

We can do all of this and more as long as we have a platform and that's what APMA provides and hopefully soon we can form all our state run medical associations into a united and single body as we had seen in other countries.

I welcome you all and will do my best to make the next two years worthwhile and memorable ones. Lastly I would just like to say that the real treasure are the friends we make along the way and the friendships we endure.
Thank you so much to all who kindly always assist us for better service under the flag of Australian and Pakistan

Dr Sayeed Khan speaking on Professional issues of Medical Practitioners

Ghazala  Khan, Dr Samreen Kassam and Dr Erum Bilal

Dr Masood Ansari, Dr Sayeed Khan and Dr Mohammad Bilal

Dr Adnan Younus, Dr Athar Khan and Ghazala Khan

Ghazala Khan, Dr Samreen Kassam and Dr Erum Bilal and Dr Arooge Shafi

Email this page to a friend! Email Sada-e-Watan to a friend!