Sada-e-Watan Sydney

Premier of New South Wales Honourable Barry O'Farrell and Minister Hon. Victor Dominello Recognised Top Multicultural Media Professionals
(Coverage by Warren Duncan of CRC and Syed Zafar Hussain of Sada-e-Watan)

NSW Premier Hon. Barry O'Farrell MP

Media professionals who do an outstanding job delivering news to the State's ethnic communities have been recognised at the Premier's Multicultural Media Awards.

NSW Premier Barry O'Farrell and Minister for Citizenship and Communities Victor Dominello attended the awards dinner at Doltone House in Sydney on the night of Thursday,13th Feb 2014.The dinner was attended by respectable Journalists, High Ranked Govt officers, Members of Parliament.

Mr O'Farrell says the growth of the State's ethnic media reflects NSW's status as one of the most multicultural societies in the world.

"NSW has many ethnic media outlets that publish, broadcast and televise in dozens of languages and represent hundreds of multicultural communities," he said.

"I was impressed to see more than 110 entries were received for the 13 categories covering print, radio, TV and online media in this year's awards, which are in their second year.

"The multicultural media is an invaluable resource to our community, and tonight's winners reflect the professionalism and dedication of those who work in the industry.

"I would like to congratulate the award winners and look forward to working with them in 2014," Mr O'Farrell said.

Minister for Citizenship and Communities Hon.Victor Dominello

Minister Victor Dominello said the Premier's Multicultural Media Awards also recognise the role multicultural media plays in promoting NSW to audiences around the world.

"Congratulations to Indian Link, with the fortnightly publication taking out Best Print Reporter, Editor, Pawan Luthra, Best Young Journalist, Ritam Mitra, and the category of Best Use of Online and Digital Media," he said.

"Former Head of SBS Radio, Tuang Quang Luu AO, also deserves special mention after being honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution to multilingual and multicultural broadcasting in NSW.

"Greek newspaper, Neos Kosmos, has been named Best Print Publication - Periodicals for its work in keeping the Greek community of NSW informed.

"Australian Jewish News Editor, Zeddy Lawrence, won Best Editorial/Commentary, and the Philippine, Ang Kalatas, was named Best Online Publication.

"Our cultural diversity is one of our state's greatest assets and the service of our multicultural media organisations continues to enhance it," Mr Dominello said.

During the Award Presentation everyone enjoyed Performance by famous Dancers

The Premier's Multicultural Media Awards are one of the feature events of Multicultural March, a celebration of one of the State's greatest assets - its cultural diversity.

A Group Photo of all Winners with Minister for Citizenship and Communities Hon.Victor Dominello MP

The awards were conducted by the NSW Community Relations Commission and adjudicated by an independent panel of academics and media experts.

Syed Zafar Hussain of Sada-e-Watan, Deputy Commissioner of New South Wales Police Nick Kaldas and Mr. Asif of Pak Link

The full list of award winners is as follows:

Best Investigative Story of the Year:
SBS Radio - The Other 9-11

Best Feature of the Year:
SBS Radio - The Enemy Within

Best Editorial/Commentary of the Year:
Australian Jewish News - Enough is Enough

Best Article on Multiculturalism of the Year:
Beyond the Bridge Inc - A Nation of Tribes?

Best Print Publication of the Year - One off publications:
Coalition of Mischief - A-Men

Best Print Publication of the Year - Periodicals:
Neos Kosmos Weekend Edition

Best Print Report of the Year:
Indian Link - Election Survey Results

Best Community TV or Community Radio Report of the Year:
South West Multicultural and Community Centre - Pacific Sport 360

Best Online Publication of the Year:
Radio Aglia -

Best Use of Online & Digital Media:
Indian Link Media Group

Young Journalist of the Year:
Indian Link - Ritam Mitra

High Commendation:
Neos Kosmos - Jimmy the Pakistani

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Mr Quang Luu AO. Board of Directors Austcare; Head of SBS Radio (1989-2006); Australian Achiever of the Year 2002.

Chief Guest:Premier of New South Wales Honourable Barry O'Farrell

Minister for Citizenship and Communities Hon.Victor Dominello MP

Chairperson Community Relations Commission of New South Wales Vic. Alhadeff

Hakan Harman, Chief Executive Officer Community Relations Commission of New South Wales

Sponsor of the function Anne Bi, Chairperson B1 Group speaking at dinner

A Leader of the Aboriginal Community Welcoming Guests

Master of Ceremonies Mr. Andrew Klein

 Email this page to a friend! Email Sada-e-Watan to a friend!